Bagpipe magic

The other day, last week, I was having a bad day. Well, not a bad day, really, it was more of a down day. I was feeling tired and kind of sad… for no reason, because I was on holiday and it was sunny and warm outside. Despite that, I wasn’t on my top game. But I had things to do, so I started doing them. 

One of those things involved going out to the city center. I was going down a street when I heard some music. At first I didn’t give it much thought, thinking it might be someone who had left his window open. It sounded like some folk instrument, though, so I started paying more attention. Then I realized it was a bagpipe. And it was being played live. And so magic happened. 


Where I come from -Asturias-, bagpipes are the regional typical instrument. And since I left, listening to bagpipe music -whereas it’s Galician, Bretone, Asturian or Gaellic- always brings me home. I followed the music, and it led me to a small park where there were four men, one of them playing the bagpipe. If there had been only one, I would have probably dared to go and talk to him, maybe thank him for the music. But four? I stayed at some distance and listened a bit more. I was so excited I didn’t stop to think and made the unforgettable mistake of filming in portrait mode, I apologize. Then I remembered I had errands to run, so I left. I wasn’t feeling down anymore. The bagpipe had made some magic, and the day was bright again. 

Leave a Reply

