Anyone can cook

Gusteau: What do I always say, Remy? Anyone can cook.Rémy: Well yeah, anyone can. That doesn’t mean that anyone should.

Do you recognise that quote? Yes, it is from Ratatouille, the Pixar film. For a long time I used it as an excuse not to, well, cook “elaborated” recipes. The simpler (aka, pasta simple) the better. Anything that involves a recipe which demanded to take care of more than one thing at once was systematically ruled out. I shouldn’t cook, even if I could. I guess I just didn’t want to face something that scared me and put me out of my comfort zone. 

Then… we’ll, I guess life happened, I grew older or maybe bolder, and I started trying things. I don’t do complicated fancy cooking, I stick to simple but good things. I started challenging myself. Experimenting with spices. Learning from others. Putting my own personal touch in the recipes. And I have to say, I have grown to become quite a competent cook. I think even my grandma (the one who always tried to make a proper lady out of me) would be proud. I am. Not because I learned to cook, but because I faced a fear and passed over it. 

Leave a Reply

